Vessel name on Arrival: Nereus
Original Builder: Haswell of South Dock, Sunderland
Original Yard No:
Official Number: 52836
Vessel Type: Cargo
Year Built: 1865
Arrival Date: 01/01/1904
Date First Beached:
Date Breakup Completed:
Launched in 1865 as UNITED SERVICE for William Gray of London
Sold to Norwegian Owners in 1895 and renamed NEREUS
Purchased by James Westoll of Sunderland in 1871
Original name when launched – UNITED SERVICE : Original Owner – William Gray of London
This vessel was equipped with a unique propeller that could be 'unshipped' when the weather was favourable to enable sailing the vessel – and probably with better speeds that under engine propulsion.
This was the first vessel broken up at the new West of Scotland Shipbreaking facility at Troon Harbour in 1904. This venture was the brainchild of John Joseph King of Garston, Liverpool, who had travelled up to Troon in 1903 to assess the Troon Harbour site potential for such an enterprise.
J.J. King continued in this business until 1938, when it was acquired by Messrs Arnott Young & Company, who were already in the shipbreaking business on sites at Dalmuir near Clydebank, and Cairnryan near Stranraer.
Messrs Arnott Young remained until 1977 when Tarmac took over until 1980.
From 1980 until final closure in 1986, the business investors were represented by businessmen Ross Veitch and Juliano Cecchi.